• K-12 Curricular Programs
    Curriculum is the skills and knowledge that students are to learn.

    A more complex approach is to analyze the several sources of curriculum; from this perspective, there are eight different kinds:

    • The recommended curriculum derives from experts in the field. Almost every discipline-based professional group has curriculum standards for its field.
    • The written curriculum is found in the documents produced by the state, the school system, the school, and the classroom teacher, specifying what is to be taught. At the district level, the documents usually include a curriculum guide and a scope-and-sequence chart; many school systems make their curriculum documents available through their databases and the Internet. The written curriculum also includes materials developed by classroom teachers. The written curriculum is the one usually meant by leaders who say, "We're going to develop a mathematics curriculum."
    • The supported curriculum is the one for which there are complimentary instructional materials available, such as textbooks, software, and multimedia resources.
    • The tested curriculum is the one embodied in tests developed by the state, school system, and teachers. The term "test" is used broadly here to include standardized tests, competency tests, and performance assessments.
    • The taught curriculum is the one that teachers actually deliver. 
    • The learned curriculum is the bottom-line curriculum—what students learn. Clearly it is the most important of all.

    Glatthorn, Allan, et. al. Planning and Organizing for Curriculum Renewal. ASCD. www.ascd.org. Retrieved 9/2015. Online.

    Phases for Continuous Improvement by Curricular Area
    Instructional Management Cycle (IMC)


    Phase 1
    Needs Assessment/Planning
    Phase 2
    Phase 3
     Phase 4
     Phase 5

    K-12 Art

    3-12 World Languages

    12 Literacy

     (Updates as needed or as required) 

    K-10 Health (3a)

    9-11 Literacy (3a)

    6-12 Mathematics (3a)

    6-12 Tech Ed (3a)

    K-5 Social Studies (3a)

    K-5 Literacy (3b)

    6-12 Family & Consumer Sciences (3b)

    K-8 Business, Computer and Information Technology Education (3b)

    9-12 Business and Integrated Technology Education (3b)

    K-5 Mathematics

    K-12 Physical Education

    6-8 Literacy

    6-12 Social Studies

    K-5 Science

    6-12 Science

    K-12 Library

    K-12 Music